mauijnr.blogg.se

Nvidia shield tv pro as plex server
Nvidia shield tv pro as plex server




nvidia shield tv pro as plex server

Most of the issues have been resolved via patches in the past few weeks, but apparently it's still quite buggy and there are lingering issues. That said, the most recent Android update (which I skipped) broke the Plex server on the Shield. In my case it's never much of an issue because I find the Shield pretty much direct plays everything, but that may not be the case with your Chromecasts. You do need Plex-pass for hardware accelerated streaming. Any more than that and you're pushing it. It will comfortably transcode two 1080p videos simultaneously in most cases, or one 4K video. I have a Shield Pro which I use as my Plex server and it works great, with caveats. Thanks for any answers!Įdit: thank you all for the responses, seems like I got all the info I need!

nvidia shield tv pro as plex server

I know these questions are probably dumb, but I'm looking to buy it specifically for this purpose so it not working as I expect would be pretty dumb too. is the Plex Pass required with this setup to get hardware transcoding? Would the hardware be strong enough to transcode, for example, two 1080p streams at the same time? I guess that's the "non Pro" version? Is the one I've linked the 2019 Pro version?ģ. Note: Plex Media Server is not available on the 2019 “tube” model NVIDIA SHIELD. Is it supported by the linked model (Which is, again, "Nvidia Shield TV Pro"), Plex support page says That Plex server could then serve media to some Chromecasts, but itself would be directly plugged into one of the TVs.ĭoes that seem like something that works? The media source would be a NAS on the same network. I'm looking to buy the Nvidia Shield TV Pro (I'm explicit about the naming on purpose) to use as a Plex server. Some articles call it Shield, some Shield TV, not sure if it's the same product, etc. I've read / seen quite a few articles / videos about the topic, but I don't know enough about the topic so I'm asking here.






Nvidia shield tv pro as plex server